Pretty much everything I’m saying here could be geared towards other beliefs as well but I’m going to be very specific here.  Firstly I’m only speaking towards militant atheists.  There are plenty of atheists in the world who realize the good that spirituality does in the lives of individuals.  There are a lot of atheists who respect the beliefs of others.  But on the other end of the spectrum, a lot of atheists don’t like religion or spirituality.  They claim that they don’t like all religions.  That’s a lie.  They may not like religion/spirituality, but there is none other that receives the blunt end of hatred like Christianity does.  That is why I’m going to be specific and say Christianity and not New Age, Shamanism, Paganism, Wicca, or anything like that.  Any atheist who claims to find all religions stupid may actually believe so, but listen to their words carefully.  Everything they say is completely geared towards Christianity.

 

Now my question is why do they feel this way?  Let’s just take all the doctrines and rules away.  Let’s take away the group and focus on the individual.  I used to wonder why homeless people kept believing in God and saying “God bless you” to any and every person who walks by regardless of if they give them money or food or anything.  Really it just hit me about five minutes before I started writing this.  Their belief in God gives them a hope that nothing else could give them.  They know that their lives are bad now, but they know that God could make it better.  If not in this life then in the next one.  And most people who have a belief in God have so because they need hope in their lives.  You can’t buy anything with hope.  You can’t live off hope alone.  But hope is an extremely powerful tool.

 

What would be the use in ridding the world of something that gives hope to people?  Why is a person less intelligent than you because they have faith and hope in something greater than themselves or their fellow man?  As a misanthropist, I must say that putting your faith in humanity is a rather reckless thing to do.  In general let’s look at humanity.  Wars over oil.  Racism.  Sexism.  Theft.  Fear of the unknown.  Arrogance.  Pride.  Police (the people who are supposed to be protecting and helping us) brutality and corruption.  Corruption in general.  Riots on black Friday resulting in deaths and injuries over TVs and gaming systems.  Is this what I’m supposed to have faith in?  Is this what anyone is supposed to have faith in?  These are the exact reason why I’m a misanthropist.  I don’t like humanity as a whole.  What do you, the militant atheist, gain in taking hope and faith away from the everyday person?

 

Now as much as I try to argue about politics or science and try to understand both sides of the argument.  But in all honesty I don’t care about any of that stuff.  Sure using science and history to back up your side of things is good.  It makes you look smart (it won’t actually mean that you’re any smarter than anyone else though unless you thoroughly understand what you believe in/are talking about), but it does nothing else because neither side can prove with any certainty that their side is 100% correct.  But what side provides the hope that most people need?  Atheism declares that this is all there ever will be, that we humans are such an insignificant part of the universe, that everything came from nothing (whatever nothing even means anymore…), and that anything that happens in this life is nothing but luck or a fluke or coincidence.  If you’re rich and famous, you’re that way because of luck, coincidence, people you know, etc.  If you’re happy, it’s because of you’re genetics/personality.  If you’re suicidal, it’s because you’re too weak to handle the world.  It’s the world’s way of “weeding” out the weak.  If I’m wrong about any of these things presented, please explain why I’m wrong.  But for the most part, these are things that I’ve read/heard from some atheists.

 

I care about the hope aspect.  That’s all that matters.  On a general basis, I’m subjected to depression caused by my own failures, what I hear in the news, the way I see people acting towards one another, the way I act towards other people, and my general dislike of the world and having to deal with it.  With atheism, what sort of hope am I supposed to have?  It provides science, and a lot of thinking but nothing else.  It doesn’t provide me with a reason to continue dealing with a world that I don’t want to deal with.  I suppose this is the real reason I have to want to convert to Christianity.  Not because it provides any real facts or anything.  But because it provides the hope needed to deal with a rather depressing world.  And I think that’s just what most people in the world desire.  We see so much injustice from all angles.  People in Africa starving.  Women there getting raped because the men believe that having sex with a virgin will cure them of HIV/AIDS.  We see teens in our own country being bullied and beaten because of their sexual identity.  Racism all around the world still runs rampant.  So people who want hope aren’t stupid or delusional.  They just want something more than themselves.  And if that belief leads them down a path to attempt to help make the world a better and more tolerable place, then so be it.  Don’t belittle people for having hope.

 

There’s another side to this coin, but that shall be for another post.

