Stands for “Too Long; Didn’t Read”.  It took me a while to figure out what this meant as I’m not up on my internet lingo like most people my age are.  Often this abbreviation is used online as a playful means of shortening up what otherwise would’ve been a long rant by the person leaving a post or comment.  However, there are people who use this as a truthful method to describe why they don’t care about your opinion on an issue.  For example.  Let’s say someone wrote a well thought out reason for why they don’t agree with a hot button issue like abortion, same sex marriage, war, etc.  This thing they wrote up could be referencing the best of the best of essays or interviews.  Perhaps the writer interviewed a few people of their own and came to a conclusion base upon what they’ve learned.  They’ve put up a very convincing argument on their view on whatever issue it is they’re writing about.

 

Now here comes a person. They’re probably (more often than not) some smart-aleck teenager who thinks they know everything about how the world works so they decide that since the writer’s opinion is different than theirs, they dismiss the views of the writer, call them idiots, and write in incorrect English and chat-speak about how wrong the writer is.  The problem this teenager has is that they never read past the first paragraph.  They realized that the writer disagreed with their views and stereotyped them along with his idea of what people like that believe.  They made assumptions about why the writer believed what they believed.

 

If something is too long, that’s no excuse for you to make assumptions on what’s actually written.  “Too long; Didn’t read” is no excuse for remaining ignorant on a subject.  What you’re doing when you say this is you’re admitting that you’re too lazy to read something that’s a few pages long (if online…would be much longer if it’s a book).  If you’re faced with the chance to learn more about a different position then do it.  Don’t continue to pretend like you know what you’re talking about.  I’m not saying that you have to agree with the opposite position.  But learn about that position.  Then look at why you believe what you do.  Weigh the sides and see which one comes out stronger.  Now am I perfect on this front?  No.  I’m most certainly not.  The difference between me and some other people though, is I can learn from the mistakes I make and admit that I make mistakes.  I often talk myself in circles without realizing it.  But I take the time to learn about different points of views.  I don’t always understand it or agree with them, but I’ll learn about them.

 

I mentioned teenagers earlier, but I don’t want to single teens out.  Even though adults don’t say “tl;dr” like a teen would, many adults still have the same attitude about subject matters.  And it’s harder to break an adult of the habit of disliking or spreading false information about something or someone than it is with a teen.  But I would encourage adults to have the same open-mindedness that I would encourage of anyone.

